2018 Conference

Sustainable Oregon 2018

Eugene Hilton
​June 13-15, 2018
Eugene, OR

View the Agenda, Presentations, and Speakers Bios

Check out the agenda, presentations, and speaker bios for Sustainable Oregon 2018.


Recycler of the Year Awards

Each year, AOR selects individuals and organizations that have made exceptional contributions to recycling and waste prevention to receive Recycler of the Year awards.


Board Elections

AOR's election of officers was held at the annual meeting on June 14, 2018.

Congratulations to AOR's newly elected board members:

  • Ali Briggs-Ungerer, Alison Briggs-Ungerer Consulting - Board Chair
  • Kristin Leichner, Pride Disposal - Conference Chair
  • Gaelen McCallister, Garten Services - Secretary
  • Joel Schoening, OBRC - Marketing Chair
  • Jennifer Stefanik - Membership Chair

Silent Auction

Thank you to everyone who donated items, helped solicit items, and bid on the silent auction. We raised over $4,000 for AOR's scholarship fund. Add in the $1,000+ raised from the 50/50 raffle and together we raised close to $5,000 for AOR scholarships and programs! A special thanks to AOR Fundraising Chair Alex Bertolucci and his Fundraising Committee.


A big thank you to this year's sponsors:


  • City of Eugene Waste Prevention and Green Building Program
  • City of Portland Bureau of Planning and Sustainability
  • Metro Resource Conservation & Recycling
  • Oregon Department of Environmental Quality
  • Republic Services - Oregon Division
  • Resource Recycling
  • Waste Connections


  • Clackamas County Resource Conservation & Solid Waste
  • Waste Management


  • Lee Barrett
  • City of Beaverton Sustainability & Recycling Program
  • EFI Recycling
  • Far West Recycling
  • Gresham Sanitary Service
  • K.B. Recycling, Inc./Kahut Waste Services
  • Oregon Department of Environmental Quality
  • Oregon Refuse & Recycling Association
  • Pride Disposal Company
  • Recology
  • Southern Oregon Sanitation
  • Thompson's Sanitary Service
  • Washington County Solid Waste & Recycling Program


  • Rogue Disposal & Recycling


  • Alison Briggs-Ungerer Consulting
  • Bend Garbage & Recycling
  • Dahl Disposal​
  • Lane County Public Works
  • Pacific Sanitation
  • Port of Portland
  • Tri-County Hazardous Waste & Recycling Program
  • University of Oregon Zero Waste Program


A big thank you to this year's exhibitors:

  • ​Bulk Handling Systems
  • Carton Council
  • City of Eugene
  • City of Portland Bureau of Planning and Sustainability
  • Denton Plastics Inc.
  • Free Geek
  • Metro Metals NW
  • NW Polymers
  • Oregon Refuse & Recycling Association
  • PCI Waste and Recycling Equipment
  • The ReBuilding Center
  • Recology
  • Rehrig Pacific Company
  • Republic Services
  • Re-TRAC Connect
  • Resoure Recycling Systems
  • Waste Connections
  • Waste Management


A big thank you to this year's exhibitors:

  • BRING Recycling
  • Carton Council
  • City of Eugene
  • City of Portland
  • Clackamas County
  • Ecoverse
  • Lane County
  • Northwest Product Stewardship Council
  • Oregon DEQ
  • Oregon Refuse & Recycling Association
  • PCI Waste & Recycling Equipment
  • Waste Connections
  • Waste Management

Planning Committee

A big thank you to the Conference Planning Committee:

  • AOR Conference Chair: Elizabeth Start, SCRAP PDX
  • Caitlin Ahearn, City of Gresham
  • Kelly Bell, Lane County
  • Allie Breyer, City of Eugene
  • Dylan de Thomas, The Recycling Partnership
  • NaTasha Gaskin, City of Portland
  • Rosalynn Greene, Metro
  • Daniel Hough, Oregon DEQ
  • Laura Leebrick, Rogue Disposal
  • Kristin Leichner, Pride Disposal
  • Angie Marzano, Lane County
  • Therese McClain, Republic Services
  • Emily Murkland, PSU CES
  • Deveron Musgrove
  • Mark Nystrom, Lane County/New Stream Strategies
  • Heather Robinson, Washington County
  • Stephanie Scafa, City of Eugene
  • Emily Shelton, BRING Recycling
  • Vinod Singh, Far West Recycling
  • Rachel Snyder, Republic Services
  • Drew Spainhower, Republic Services
  • Jennifer Stefanick, Community Environmental Services
  • Willie Tiffany, Oregon Refuse & Recycling Association
  • Kim Waxler, Metro